Week 1: Plaster Casting

I didn’t know what to expect with the project. I didn’t actually watch the examples of plaster casting until I was already at the beach. All I knew was that I had 2 hours to get it done because I had only paid $3. I have never done a project like this before, so I didn’t know where to start. At first I struggled because I was too close. When I got the process figured out, the waves came even closer and eventually filled up all the holes that I had created. With only about an hour left, I decided to make a hand for myself. I figured that the best way was to stick my hand the way I wanted, pour a bunch of water into the hole, and then dump sand in to absorb the water. This was the best method that I came up with after an hour. It worked pretty well and I had a lot of fun doing it with my friends. I could apply this activity to my life with just completing more art projects. It gives me a more creative aspect from the point that I had entered the class.

Processed with VSCO with f2 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Leave a Reply

