Week 9: Artist Conversation, Carmina Correa

Artist: Carmina Correa

Exhibition: A Beach in Symmetry, A Breach in Symmetry

Media: sugar water, corn syrup for sugar piece

Media: found objects, acoustic film, and construction grade material for confession booth

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Max L. Gatov Gallery East

Website: N/A

Instagram: N/A

Hello Everyone!

This week I got the chance to choose Carmina’s exhibition. She is currently a Senior here at CSULB who transferred from Cypress College. Ms. Correa is Filipino and she commutes from Anaheim, California. She is currently pursuing a BFA in Sculpture. With this BFA, she aspires to become a fabricator utilizing 3-D printing and other modern and innovative techniques. In her free time, Carmina enjoys competing in video games such as Counter Strike Go, Starcraft, and many more.

Her work is a collaboration with two other people. This was interesting to me because it was a collaboration between three individuals who were able to intertwine their ideas and create artwork that mixed well each other. Their artwork focused on a void that is present. Carmina rides a fine line between technology and art. Her most interesting work for me was the confession stand. It was placed in the corner of the room. This was a conscious decision as Carmina stated that “you know, but you don’t really know where the confession booth really is.” When I was trying to figure out more about the exhibit itself, I could not find the descriptive paper. It was actually hidden with the confession stand in the corner to force viewers to actually walk around the whole exhibit. The confession stand was made of found objects, acoustic film, and construction grade material. The piece itself was huge and was created piece by piece on campus. Carmina stated that the horizontal doorway stretch was 8 feet long and that’s how she was able to get the art piece into the exhibit. The confession stand itself was to represent the void from her ethnic  background and the Spanish conquered the Philippines and how it all relates to Catholicism.

My experience with all the art pieces was a unique one. The sugar piece was to represent Carmina’s Type II Diabetes, however, no one in my family has had it, so I cannot relate on a personal level. I don’t know how uncomfortable the topic is. The next art piece was the confession booth. This booth related to a void that I did not understand very well. Catholicism and being Filipino were not things that I could relate to. I did, however, have a rough idea of how Catholicism worked and how the confession booth worked. Along with that, I understood that there was a void that was created as technology intertwines with our daily lives. I believe that the emphasis on the void really got me thinking about the voids that I have within my life.Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 preset

 

 

Leave a Reply

